JambuDweep : Introduction to zones, Lakes & Lotuses

Jambudweep lies in the center of the middle Loka. It extends to 1 lakh yojan. (For details about Yojana & other units, see this blog post.)

In the center of Jambudweep lies a mountain which is known as Sumeru.


Starting from the south direction of Sumeru, there are seven zones(kshetras):

  • Bharat
  • Haimavat
  • Hari
  • Videh
  • Ramyak
  • Hairanyvat
  • Airavat 


In the middle of these seven zones lies six mountains which are as follows:

  • Himvan Mountain: Between Bharat & Haimavat zones
  • Mahahimvan Mountain: Between Haimavat & Hari zones
  • Nishadh Mountain: Between Hari & Videh zones
  • Neel Mountain: Between Videh & Ramyak zones
  • Rukmee Mountain: Between Ramyak & Hairanyvat zones
  • Sikharin Mountain: Between Hairanyvat & Airavat zones

The length and width of these mountains are like a wall means they are of the same width and length from bottom to top. Mountains are also known as kulaachal(in Hindi).

Both sides of these mountains are made of gems and touch the oceans. 

Color & Height of Mountains:

Colors and height of each mountain are as follows:

  • Himvan Mountain: Golden, 100 yojan
  • Mahahimvan Mountain: Silver, 200 yojan
  • Nishadh Mountain: Heated Gold, 400 yojan
  • Neel Mountain: Iridescent Blue, 400 yojan 
  • Rukmee Mountain: Silver, 200 yojan
  • Sikharin Mountain: Golden, 100 yojan


Each mountain has a lake in it which are as follows:

  • Himvan Mountain: Padma
  • Mahahimvan Mountain: Mahapadma
  • Nishadh Mountain: Tigin̄cha
  • Neel Mountain: Kesari
  • Rukmee Mountain: Maha Pundareek
  • Sikharin Mountain: Pundareek

The names of these lakes are based on the names of the main lotus situated in each lake. Hence, Padma lake has the main lotus named Padma in it.

. . .

Description of Padma Lake & Lotuses:

This pedicel is 10 yojan inside and 0.5 yojan above the water. There are 1011 petals in each lotus which are shaped like petals of a newly grown lotus.

The filament of Padma lotus is 3 Kosh and is of silver color with golden anther. The center part of the lotus is known as Karṇikā. The height and width of this Karṇikā are 1 Kosh each. 

On this Karṇikā lies the house of Shri devi which is 1 Kosh long, 0.5 Kosh wide and 0.75 Kosh tall. There are 1,40, 115 family lotuses beside the main lotus. There is a house of family heavenly being on each family lotus. 

Height/width/Length of family house = (Height/width/length of Shri devi’s house) / 2

Division of family lotuses:

First, let’s see what are the posts of heavenly beings like for us via this table.

In the south-east direction of Shri devi’s house lies the 32,000 houses of Abhyantar Parishad heavenly beings on 32,000 lotuses.

In the south direction of Shri devi’s house lies 40,000 houses of Madhya Parishad heavenly beings on 40,000 lotuses.

In the south-west direction of Shri devi’s house lies 48,000 houses of Baahy Parishad heavenly beings on 48,000 lotuses.

In the west direction of Shri devi’s house lies 7 houses of Aneek heavenly beings on 7 lotuses.

In the north-west & north-east direction of Shri devi’s house lies 4,000 houses of Sāmānika heavenly beings on 4,000 lotuses.

Inside directions of the above-mentioned lotuses towards the main lotus are located 16,000 houses of Angrakshaks(Bodyguards) beings on 16,000 lotuses in all the four directions(4,000 in each direction).

Going inwards from these lotuses towards the main lotus, there are 108 houses of Pratihaar mahattar on 108 lotuses.

The pedicel of family lotuses is equal to the depth of the lake.

. . .

Main Lotus Devi:

House of Devi on the main lotus of each lake:

  • Padma Lake: Shri Devi
  • Mahapadma Lake: Rhi Devi
  • Tigin̄cha Lake: Dhriti Devi
  • Kesari Lake: Kirti Devi
  • Maha Pundareek Lake: Buddhi Devi
  • Pundareek Lake: Lakshmi Devi

All the arrangement of the family lotuses in each lake is similar to Padma lake. The only difference is that the number of family lotuses and the height/width of lotuses is getting doubled in each lake as we go serially from the Padma to Nishadh lake. 

. . .


Length of each lake = Height of its mountain * 10

Width of each lake = Height of its mountain * 5

Depth of each lake = Height of its mountain / 10

Calculating the height and width of lotus situated in each lake:

Height/width of each Lotus = Depth of its lake / 10


Height of Himvan Mountain = 100 yojan

So, length of Padma lake = 100 * 10 = 1000 yojan

Width of Padma lake = 100 * 5 = 500 yojan

Depth of Padma lake = 100 / 10 = 10 yojan

Height/width of Lotus in Padma Lake = 10 / 10 = 1 yojan

. . .

Summary Table:

. . .


Jain Mathematics tell us the amazing world and its structure. While reading these calculations or structures, we should understand the glory of Kevalgyaan (pure infinite knowledge) in which all of this is visible clearly and hence, our soul which is capable of knowing all this simultaneously.

I have tried to write the most important parts in English with the guidance of videos linked below. However, it is a human tendency to err. Hence, I request you to correct me in the comments or personally on [email protected] in case of any mistakes.

Next parts will follow soon. Till then you can enjoy the next videos in Hindi.

. . .